How a Plant Could Help Boost Kansas’s Economy

I have a following as a conservative blogger, however my political party does not define all of my political opinions. A huge part of that was my love for history and politics. Thanks to my high school forensics teacher, I learned how to research topics to support my argument, and that has shown in previous articles.

Now if you follow me on Twitter, then you already know that I have been live streaming and advocating for marijuana legalization. I have seen a few of my more conservative followers unfollow me based on my stance on the issue, but I have seen a huge welcome from the marijuana community. While it is uncommon to see a conservative advocate for mary jane, it is not unheard of. I advocate for knowledge of the plant, fully knowing skewed propaganda in states like Kansas and Texas have turned many away from it with false information.

According to the Washington Times, “Colorado’s legal marijuana dispensaries sold $1.3 billion worth of pot during 2016”. This includes both medical and recreational. Since Colorado became the first 420 friendly state back in 2012, it was known from the start as a successful business venture and industry. Working in the industry myself, I can say firsthand that when it comes transparency, the federal government could learn a thing or two from us.

The overwhelming positive feedback from Colorado has gotten 17 other states, including Kansas, looking at legalizing marijuana, according to the Los Angles Times. They went on to say that, “A Pew Research Center survey from October showed that 57% of Americans believe marijuana should be legalized, compared to 37% who believe it should remain illegal”.

The reason I keep bringing up Kansas is simply because it is where I was born and raised. And after going through Kansas health classes, I can honestly say education is lacking and skewed where marijuana is concerned.

In an article published by the Kansas City Star, “The Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee heard the bill Monday. If it passes, Kansas would join 28 other states that have some type of medical marijuana program”.

While this could make the border between Kansas and Colorado less tense, however the tax money could help the school system, which has faced numerous budget cuts. The Star published another article stating, “A deficit of $350 million suddenly was projected for the remaining five months of this year, and next year, an additional $500 million deficit is expected”. Now while I’m certain sports programs will not suffer, seeing as how they help bring in money for the schools, I am sure other programs will suffer. Programs like Band, choir, theater, and so on, will be left with virtually nothing to go on, and will face being shut down.

I will go over the numerous benefits and debunk “facts” pushed by the federal government in later articles. But I want to say thank you to the numerous support I have received, and anyone can follow me on Twitter at ITchik14 for live streams and updates on my blog. Be on the lookout for more coming soon!

Leave a Reply

